After having homemade granola, I cannot go back to store-bought. It truly tastes sooo much better! I make large quantities and store-them in airtight containers and it keeps well. Not sure how long because it disappears quickly. :)  My husband loves eating it with milk or yogurt for breakfast (or a snack) as it really keeps him full. I seldom ever buy store-bought cereal anymore.

(My little kitchen helper! Sticking all his plastic-ware into the granola as I was preparing it one day.)

There are various ways of making it, here are my 2 favourite ways: made in the oven, or stove top. I like the oven version for making huge batches in the winter, but the stove top is quicker and doesn’t warm up the house so much. Remember that granola is pretty versatile. Want to add in craisins? Go for it!

Stovetop Granola

4 cups oatmeal
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup brown sugar or molasses
2 Tbsp butter
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup coconut
2 Tbsp ground flax
1/4 cup sunflower seeds/pumpkin seeds

Toast oatmeal and almonds in frying pan until light brown. Set aside, add in raisins, coconut, ground flax, and seeds. In frying pan, melt butter, honey, and brown sugar/molasses. Mix in with oatmeal mix. Let cool and store in airtight container.

 

Oven Granola (from here, with less sugar, recipe halved although I always double/triple it!)

8 cups oatmeal
2 cups coconut
1/2 cup cornmeal
1 cup water
1 cup oil
1/2 cup honey
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 Tbsp vanilla
1/2 Tbsp almond flavour (optional)
Optional add-ins: flax seeds (ground or whole), walnuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, raisins (add these after cooking)

Mix dry and wet ingredients separately; combine and mix well. Spread on greased pans/cookie sheets. Bake at 200F for 4-6hrs or until dry and lightly browned. Stir occasionally.

 

Peanut Butter Granola

While I’m at it, here’s another simple granola recipe we do once in a while for variety!

