I love this soda bread! I make it at least every other month, and it’s gone in no time. Spread with butter, it makes for easy and delicious snacks and breakfast.

My kitchen helper! He’s adding raisins to the batter, before putting it in the greased cast iron to bake! By the way, I’m standing at the end of the kitchen. You’re seeing the only cupboard I currently have (other than 3 below the counter)! Tiny kitchen, but we’ve made it work for 5mths. I am looking forward to being back in my own big kitchen soon though! These past few months have helped me realize that I can still bake yummy foods even with an apartment size fridge, stove, and and only 3-4′ of counter space!!

 

Irish Soda Bread

3 cups wheat flour
1 cup white flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 Tbsp sugar*
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 Tbsp baking powder
4 Tbsp crisco/butter/margarine
1 eg
2 cups buttermilk (or 2 Tbsp vinegar in regular milk)
2 cups raisins (or even blueberries!)

Mix all the ingredients together. Place in a greased cast iron pan (or, free-form on a cookie sheet). Bake at 350F for 40 minutes.

*The original recipe calls for 2/3 cup. We like to minimize our sugar intake, but it does taste great with the full amount of sugar! :D

Note: I got this recipe from a blog online. I tried to find it to credit the recipe, but I can’t locate it. If/when I do, I’ll be sure to add it to this post for credit!

