The original recipe is from A Joyful Handmaiden. I made it last year for the first time, after my friend Lindsey shared the link with me, and really enjoyed them! Except for how very sweet they were. A year later, I finally made them again to see if I could make them less sweet as they are really good! Well, it worked. They’re less sweet, yet still sweet enough, they taste great, and best of all? They’re made with whole grains! I made these with spelt. ‘Cause I love my spelt. But it would work with wheat. Or white. Or a mixture. :)  If you do 100% wheat, it will be denser. Spelt works better that way. So go ahead, indulge in these yummy muffins. They are whole grains, it’s easy to justify them. ;-)  hehe

Cappuccino Muffins

(Makes 12 muffins)

2 cups flour (wheat, spelt, white, or mixture! I used spelt entirely.)
2 Tbsp white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 Tbsp instant coffee
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1 cup milk
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Mix dry and wet ingredients separately, and combine until just blended. Add chocolate chips. Pour into greased or lined muffin tins, and top with topping:

Topping:

3 Tbsp flour
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 Tbsp cold butter

Mix together, sprinkle over muffins. Bake 22-25 minutes at 375F.

Posted at Cast Party WednesdayHomemaker by Choice and Tempt my Tummy Tuesday!

