I’ve made this recipe for years. My “adopted Mom” while in college made me a recipe book as a wedding gift (best gift, ever!), and this is one of the recipes in there. It’s soooo good. I’ve made it into muffins before too. :) ┬áThis is a bit of a variation to her recipe, as I “healthy-fied” it a bit. :)

Pumpkin Apple Cake

2 eggs
1/2 cup applesauce or oil
1 cup pumpkin puree
2 1/2 cups flour (I used all spelt)
1/4 cup ground flax (optional)
3/4 cup honey
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cloves
1 tsp cinnamon
2 cups chopped apples (about 2 apples)

Combine wet ingredients. Add dry ingredients and mix. Pour into greased cake pan or 8″x8″ pan. Sprinkle with topping. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.

Topping:
5 Tbsp flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
6 Tbsp butter

Mix together, sprinkle on top of cake.

