I first had this muffin “back in the day” when I was a bank teller. Before kids. Nearly 4 years ago! Seems like another lifetime. :)  Every Friday was casual Friday and we took turns bringing in a snack for our co-workers. My supervisor brought these and I LOVED them. They are still a favourite around here!

I recently realized that I never shared this delicious recipe on here, so without delay, here it is!

 

Blueberry Oatmeal Coconut Muffins

1 cup oatmeal (rolled, or quick)
1 cup flour (wheat, spelt, white, or a combinaison)
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup coconut
1 1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup oil
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup blueberries

Combine oatmeal and buttermilk, soak for 30 minutes.

Combine flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.

Blend oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla and coconut. Add oatmeal and buttermilk. Stir in flour mixture, stirring only to moisten.

Fold in blueberries. Spoon into greased/lined muffin tins.

Bake 20-25 minutes at 350F, or until toothpick inserted in the middle of the muffin comes out clean.

Cool on cooling rack, enjoy!

