This recipe is a bit past my comfort zone, in that it takes quinoa! I love quinoa, but I don’t use it much because I can’t buy it in bulk. And I’m a save-money-by-buying-bulk type of gal. ;-)  I decided to try it though, and it’s very delicious! It’s a bit more crumbly than my favourite Chocolate Spelt Fudge Cake, but still very delicious!

I wanted to make this recipe so anyone can make it, so I ground my quinoa in my coffee grinder instead of using my grain mill. It worked great! Just grind until the quinoa looks like a fine flour. :)

Quinoa Fudge Sour Cream Cake

2 eggs, separated
1/4 cup butter (soft)
1/4 cup hot water
1/4 cup cocoa
1 cup maple syrup
1 1/4 cup quinoa flour (I used my coffee grinder to make the flour!)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup pecans (optional)*

Beat egg whites until stiff. Set aside. Mix remaining ingredients in bowl until moist. Gently fold in egg whites. Pour into greased 8″x8″ pan. Bake at 375F for 30-35 minutes, until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

*I don’t care much for nuts in breads and cakes. I put 1/2 cup, but next time I’ll omit. Or, substitute with chocolate chips! ;-)

This recipe is from Sensible Cooking.

