My husband loves quiche! I do too, except I don’t like making pie crusts! :)  There are 2 quiches I tend to do, this rice-crusted quiche, and one that has a potato base (hashbrowns-like). I love those quiche recipes, because they require no crust! And make my husband happy. :)

(Yes, there is a crust in this picture… it doesn’t need a crust! Actually, tastes much better without one!)

My cousin made a cookbook of family recipes, and sent me a copy. YAY! I was so excited to get it!! One of the recipe is this crustless vegetable quiche recipe. I’ve made it twice, and plan on making it many more times. It’s the easiest quiche recipe, I’ve done yet!

Crustless Vegetable Quiche

1/2 cup onion, diced
1 1/2 cup vegetables*
3 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2-3/4 cup flour (1/2 cup white flour, or 3/4 cup when using fresh-ground wheat/spelt)
Salt and pepper
1/2 tsp Oregano
1/2 cup cheese
Meat, optional

Fry onions, mushrooms, and peppers in frying pan, to soften. Add in blanched** broccoli.

Mix together milk, eggs, flour, salt, pepper and oregano. Add to vegetables. Transfer to pie plate*** and sprinkle with cheese. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until eggs are cooked.

*I’ve used what I have on hand, approx: 1/2 cup mushrooms, 1/2 cup broccoli, and 1/2 cup red/green/yellow peppers
**microwaved for 30 sec to soften.

***I cooked the vegetables in a cast-iron pan, and baked it in that! It was a double recipe.

