My son has been low in iron, so I decided to molasses cookies were a must! Wouldn’t you know…. my husband and I ate most of them. ;-)  Yum!

This recipe is from Sensible Cooking, a cookbook that came with my Bosch mixer.

Molasses Crinkles

1/2 cup oil
3/4 cup brown sugar*
1/4 cup molasses*
1 egg
1 cup white flour (I did all wheat)
1 cup wheat flour
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cloves
Sugar, for dipping cookies

Mix oil, sugar, molasses, and egg until fluffy. Add flour, salt, soda, cinnamon, ginger and cloves. Mix well. Shape into 1″ balls (if too sticky, chill dough first). Dip tops in sugar. Place sugar side up on a nonstick baking sheet. Bake at 350F for 10-12 minutes until set but not hard.

Tip: Sprinkle top of cookie with 3 drops of water to get a crackled effect!

*I decreased the brown sugar to 1/3 cup, and increased the molasses to 1/2 cup. I used blackstrap molasses, which made the cookies high in iron, but almost non-sweet. If using blackstrap, I’d recommend following the recipe a bit better. :)

