This is another one of my husband’s favourite dish! I should make it more often, it’s so easy! Yet delicious. My almost 4-yr old is not found of casseroles, but he sure likes this one. :)  With only 6 ingredients, how can you go wrong?! I make mine lasagna-style, which makes it even quicker and simpler.

Chicken Enchiladas

2 cups chicken, cooked and diced
1 cup cheese, shredded
2 cans condensed cream soup (I made my own this time, easy and yummy!)
1/4-1/2 cup salsa, to taste
1 cup chicken broth
4-8 tortillas, depending on size :)

Mix soup, broth, and salsa together.

In 8″x8″ casserole dish, spoon a bit of soup mixture. Place one layer of tortilla (I cut them to cover the entire layer). Now one layer of chicken. Spoon soup mixture to cover the chicken. Continue adding layers: tortilla, chicken, soup. Don’t fill dish to the top as it bubbles up and will overflow in the oven! Finish casserole dish with soup layer. Sprinkle cheese on top. Bake at 350F for 30 minutes or until hot and bubbly.

Remove from oven, let sit for 10-15 minutes before cutting and serving. This gives it a chance to cool a bit so you can cut it and it will hold its shape better, instead of the soup leaking all over and making it a sloppy mess. Believe me, it’s a bit embarrassing to serve it to guests like that. ;-)  Still tastes great though, thankfully! :D

Tastes really good as leftovers the next day! I’ve also made these and frozen them (before cooking), as a pre-baby freezer meal.

