I looooove salsa. One of my favourite snack at night, once the boys are in bed, is tortilla chips and salsa, while snuggled up to my husband watching a movie. *love*  I used to be able to buy salsa in a fairly large container locally, for a decent price, but when they stopped carrying that size, I couldn’t bring myself to pay the price for the little jars. I like salsa too much to go without, and decided to find a recipe. What I found is that the recipes all used fresh tomatoes. I live in northern Canada. Fresh tomatoes are expensive. And I don’t want to always have some on hand as they don’t last long.

So, I decided to experiment with canned tomatoes and was surprisingly delighted at the taste! Yes, its different than store-bought salsa and I wasn’t sure how much I liked it at first. But it really grew on me and now I love it. I also love how easy it is to make. Takes 5 minutes or less, and since I buy my canned tomatoes on sale, it’s so cheap to make! You definitely can use fresh tomatoes too, if desired. I’ve done that when I bought too many tomatoes this summer and it was very delicious too!

Without further ado, here is the recipe! I usually don’t measure, but go by taste. :)

Homemade Salsa

1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes, drained well
1/4 cup onion, chopped finely
1 clove garlic, chopped finely
1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
Green peppers, diced or green onions, chopped, optional (looks pretty!)
Salt, to taste
Pinch of cayenne pepper, optional (if you like to add some kick to it!)

Put it all through the blender quickly, just enough to chop to the consistency you want. Taste, add apple cider vinegar or salt to taste. Best eaten right away (gets watery if put in the fridge for the next day, but still good!)

