My boys LOVE spaghetti (or macaroni). I’ve always served it to them with sauce, so they’ve always liked the sauce. I make my own, and always make a large batch so that I can freeze a few containers for future meals.

Spaghetti sauce is a great way to feed your picky eaters lots of vegetables they would not eat otherwise! My boys don’t like the texture of onions or celery. Little do they know that I put loads of those through the food processor and into the spaghetti sauce. ;-)  I sometimes add grated zucchini, or mashed pumpkin/squash, or other vegetables that I have on hand or are in season. What do you add in your spaghetti sauce? :)

While I’m sharing a recipe for spaghetti sauce, I should be honest and say that I seldom follow the recipe. I just throw ingredients together in a pot (or crockpot) and let it simmer away! Instead of diced tomatoes, I often just start with a huge can of tomato sauce (not pasta sauce). It’s so versatile, play around with this recipe! :)

Spaghetti Sauce

1lb ground beef
1 Tsbp oil
1 cup onion, chopped
½ cup green pepper, chopped
1/2 cup carrots, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
2 cans (14.5oz ea) diced tomatoes, undrained
2 cans (8oz ea) tomato sauce
2 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
½ tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 Tbsp sugar (cuts down acidity of the tomatoes)

Cook beef, onion, green pepper, and garlic for 2 minutes, drain. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover and simmer 45 minutes (or all day in the crockpot!).

Serve on top of noodles, or mix with cooked noodles, place in casserole dish, top with cheese, and broil in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese.

