Pretty cool, isn’t it! Well, guess what! Even though it’s on this healthy eating blog, it’s not healthy. hehe  Sometimes life gets in the way, or you want to do something out of the ordinary, and well, rainbow cupcakes are the result!

 

I made these for my son’s 3rd birthday. I cheated all the way. I used a cake mix from a box (I can count on one hand how many times I’ve used those!), and lots of food colouring, which resulted very happy children!

It didn’t work out exactly like I planned, but it was still a neat effect. Next time I think I’ll make less layers so that each colour is more distinct. How to make these? Well, it takes a bit of patience, cake batter, and food colouring. You divide the batter into several bowls, colour each bowl a different colour, and layer the batter (covering the previous colour completely) in a muffin tin. For more detailed directions, and guidelines on food colouring, check out this site.

I know someone who made these, then cut them up in chunks for a truffle! That would be so pretty too!

