We really enjoy multigrain bread. When looking for a multigrain mix in various stores, I could not find what I was looking for. I didn’t simply want a variety of ways of wheat (cracked, flaked, rolled, etc), I wanted a true mix that included a wide variety of grains. I could not find a mix like that, so I went to a bulk food store, bought a bunch of various grains, and made my own! It tastes amazing in bread, and you’re adding so many new nutrients. It’s great! I’ve often been asked about it, so here it is. I’m going to give you measurement amounts, but really, you put however much of each grain as you want. It’s a bit different every time I make it, depending on what grains I have left in the cupboard! What helped me decide which grains to put more of was the cost, and that will vary depending on your location and what grains are readily available to you.

Multigrain Mix

1 cup wheat kernels (coarsely ground)
1 cup rye kernels (coarsely ground)
1 cup spelt kernels (coarsely ground)
1 cup popcorn (coarsely ground, or use cornmeal)
1 cup oatmeal
1 cup whole flax
1 cup ground flax
1 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup bran
1/4 cup millet
1/4 cup kasha
1/4 cup white quinoa
1/4 cup red quinoa
1/4 cup white sesame seeds
1/4 cup black sesame seeds
1/8 cup amaranth
Remember that once grain kernels are crushed and flax is ground, the mix needs to be stored in the freezer.
