I seldom buy mayonnaise now, I just make it! If you own a blender, it’s super easy. It doesn’t last as long as store-bought, but I know what the ingredients are, and it tastes great! 🙂  Since we’re only a family of 4 (and only 3 who eat regular food so far!), I usually only make half a batch at the time.

Homemade Mayonnaise

Blend:
2 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp dry mustard

Clean sides of blender, add:
2 Tbsp lemon juice

Slowly, while blender is on, add:
1/2 cup oil

Add:
2 Tbsp vinegar

While running:
1 1/2 cups oil

Store in airtight container in the fridge. It will get thicker once refrigerated, but it can definitely be used right away.

Note: Since this is homemade mayonnaise without preservatives, be careful how long it stays out of the fridge, and make sure to keep it cold. By doing that, it should last you a good two weeks, possibly longer. Use caution, and if uncertain, discard. I only make half a batch at the time and when it is finished, I don’t make it again until I need it the next time. It’s quick to make!

