Homemade croutons are almost like chips, when you start eating them it’s hard to stop (especially if you put a lot of butter on them! hehe). It’s a great way to use stale bread too! We don’t really care for the end crusts of bread around here (other than when fresh), so I keep a bag in the freezer where we put those slices. It doesn’t go to waste, I can make croutons with it! Or when I make another batch of bread, the leftover loaf goes in there too. Because who wants to eat “old” bread when there is fresh?! Yeah, we’re rather spoiled in this house when it comes to fresh bread. 🙂

These can be used on salads, or even sprinkled on top of creamy casseroles. You can also use it to make your own homemade stuffing mix (I use plain unseasoned croutons for that)!

Homemade Croutons

Cut up bread into cubes, place on cookie sheet. Melt butter/margarine and spread over croutons. Sprinkle seasonings*, mix. Dry at 200F in oven until crispy.

*Seasonings are versatile on taste. I like to just use salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and parsley. My Mom loves sprinkling on italian seasoning!

