Pictured: Vegetarian Pizza

I pretty much always make our pizza, and while we’ve enjoyed it in the past, the crust just never quite cut it. And I refused to make a white pizza crust. haha  Sooo, I finally relaxed a bit and decided to use some white flour in my pizza crust and YUM! It turns out so beautifully! So good in fact, that we’ve eaten it 3 times in 2 weeks. Yeah, it’s that good. 🙂

Pizza Dough

1 1/2 cup wheat flour (I use spelt)
3/4 – 1 cup white flour
1 Tbsp sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp yeast
2 Tbsp oil
1 cup very warm water
Cornmeal (about 1 Tbsp), optional

Proof yeast if necessary; if using instant yeast, just mix in with your flour! Mix all ingredients, adding flour until the dough is smooth and doesn’t stick to the sides (or sticks just a little bit). Knead 5 minutes. Place in an oiled bowl, rolling it around to oil all around the dough. Cover with a cloth.

Let rise 30min-1hr, or until doubled. Punch down. Sprinkle greased pizza pans with cornmeal. Roll out dough into pizza pans (it makes one large one with thick crust, or two thin crusts).

Add your toppings. Bake 20min at 400F, or until golden brown underneath.

Shared at Tempt my Tummy Tuesday!

