I first made this cake 3 years ago. My friend Bethany came to spend 3 weeks with us over the due date of my first child. One night I was craving chocolate cake, so we found a snack cake recipe. It’s like a regular cake, but a bit more dense since it has no eggs or milk. It’s quick and easy, you can serve it with icing or without, and it’s chocolate! Mmmm. I’ve definitely developed an “addiction” to chocolate since the birth of my second child!!! I think next time I may even add chocolate chips to this recipe. 😉

This recipe is from Betty Crocker’s cookbook, but as you’ll see below, I change a couple things. This is a cake you can simply mix in a bowl with a spoon, no mixer needed!

Chocolate Snack Cake

1 1/2 cups flour (I use 1 3/4 cup spelt flour)
1 cup sugar (I use 3/4 cup)
1/4 cup baking cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup oil
1 tsp white vinegar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup cold water

Mi flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and salt in bowl. Mix oil, vinegar and vanilla. Vigorously stir oil mixture and wter into flour mixture about 1 minute or until well blended.. Immediately pour into greased 8″x8″ pan. Bake 30 to 35 minutes at 350F, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 15 minutes. Serve warm or cool with ice cream, or whipped cream, or plain!

