I love spelt. It takes a bit of getting used to, as it makes a softer dough, you need to use a bit if extra flour (or less oil), but once you start getting used to it, it’s great! I replaces white flour so much better than wheat. The taste is very similar to wheat, so no one would know it’s not! I love spelt. And I loved these biscuits! Biscuits is my go-to food when I’m out of bread and want some quickly to go with supper. 🙂

This recipe is from Passionate Homemaking, scroll down her page to get to the original recipe.

 

Spelt Biscuits

7 cups spelt flour
6 tsp baking powder
2 1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups butter
2 cups buttermilk/kefir

Mix dry ingredients, cut in butter and stir in buttermilk. Put 1/8 cup of olive oil in the bottom of a 13×9 pan (you will probably need two pans). Pour flour on counter, and pat out 1 inch thick. Cut out with glass cup that is floured. Dip in oil, top and bottom. Put them close together in pan.* Bake at 400 for 18 minutes.

Makes 22-30 biscuits, depending on size!

*I used a tablespoon and dropped the dough on greased cookie sheets.

