Abigail, over at Tammy’s Recipes, shares her family recipe for a summer squash casserole. It tastes just as great with zucchini! It’s a perfect recipe for this time of the year when squash and zucchini is cheap to buy, or over-abundant in some of your gardens. 🙂

It’s a very easy recipe to make. The bread crumbs on top are a great way to use leftover stale bread. The recipe calls for mayonnaise, and I always use my homemade mayonnaise. I’ve also made it with some chicken chunks in it, or serving slices of ham on the side. It’s a great recipe we really enjoy around here. 🙂  I always make extra to have some for lunch the next day!

My husband bought me two zucchinis last time the farmers’ market was in town (they come to our town once a month in the summer). Look at the size of the zucchini! Almost the length of my big 6 month old! 🙂

I ground some of it up and put it into meatballs and hamburger patties I was making (to freeze). I also put some of the ground beef I cooked and froze for casseroles later on. Then we ate this squash/zucchini casseroles several times.

What are your favorite ways to use and eat zucchinis?

