I’ve wanted to make my own BBQ sauce for a while, but never got around to it. Then one night, Josiah was cooking some hamburgers and asked for some. He loves cooking hamburgers with BBQ sauce. So, I found a recipe, mixed it up quickly, and we both loved it. No more buying BBQ sauce! Wahoo! I love it when I get to eliminate one more thing off the grocery list! The recipe is from here.

Homemade BBQ sauce

3 cups ketchup
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon celery seed, crushed or ground
2 tablespoons ground cumin
1 tablespoon ground red pepper**
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1/2 tablespoon chili powder
1-2 teaspoons lemon juice
1 cup apple cider vinegar
1-2 teaspoons liquid smoke

Mix all ingredients together!

*I think I only used 1/4 cup or less, as ketchup is already sweet!!
** It was on the hot side, so I’ll reduce the amount next time, my hubby isn’t so keen on spicy!)

