I love split pea soup! What can I say, I am French Canadian after all!! 🙂  I’ve wanted to make pea soup for a while, and after coming across an easy crock-pot recipe, I had no more excuses! I put all the ingredients in the crockpot, and ate waaaay too much for supper. It’s just that good! 🙂

I didn’t cook the soup with ham, but I did add some small pieces in the end . I also don’t have an immersion blender, so I put the soup through the blender, but only blended a bit so it was still chunky. (Omit ham for a vegetarian dish.)

It’s a very easy, healthy, and cheap recipe. Served with yummy fresh bread = yum! It’s going to become a staple in this house, I think! Try it for yourself!

 

Crock-Pot Split Pea Soup

2 cups dried split peas
1/2 onion, diced
1 potato, peeled and diced
1 carrot, diced
4 cups vegetable/chicken broth
1 cup water
1 t salt (may need more if not adding ham)
1/2 t pepper
Ham hock (optional)

Put all the ingredients in the crock-pot. If desired, add the ham hock during cooking and discard before serving. Cover and cook on low about 8 hrs or on high about 4 hrs.

Use an immersible hand blender, or transfer soup to the blender, to make the soup more creamy. I only blend a little bit to cream some of the peas, yet leave some intact and chunky. I like that combination.

Add ham chunks, if desired.
