Play dough is a classic toy for children. It’s great, as it encourages playing with imagination, and keeps them going for hours (well, longer than most toys at least!). I like to make my own since its pretty easy, my son can choose the colours and help me. Makes it a fun project to do together.

First you mix the ingredients in a pot and cook it until it is no longer sticky to the touch. Your child can help stir in at first, but then it becomes thick and harder to stir. Next you knead it and add the colours you want.

Then your child(ren) have a lot of fun! 🙂  Cookie cutters, rolling pins are great additions to play dough.

Isn’t it pretty? 🙂  You can make the colours as light or as dark as you want. I made mine fairly light, but still a lot of fun!

 

Homemade Play-dough

3 cups flour
5 Tbsp oil
2 Tbsp cream of tartar
3 cups water
1 1/2 cups salt (you read that right!)

Mix all ingredients in a large pot. Cook over low heat, constantly stirring, until not sticky to the touch. Take off the heat, separate into however many different colours you want. Knead more by hand (I used my Bosch mixer), incorporating the food colouring thoroughly. Once cooled completely, keep stored in ziploc bag or plastic container so it doesn’t dry out.

Have FUN! 🙂

