Erika, from Large Families on Purpose, recently shared how her family drinks green smoothies for breakfast every day. I’d often heard of green smoothies, but her post finally got me to try them! My son and I proceeded to drink them every day for breakfast for a week (and counting)! They are delicious, and surprisingly filling.

What do I put in a green smoothie? Inspired by Erika, I use:

  • Bananas (usually frozen as I buy a big box of overripe ones)
  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen blueberries
  • Handful of spinach
  • 1-2 Tbsp ground flax
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • Milk, to desired consistency
Of course, smoothies are very versatile, so I don’t always put yogurt, or take the time to grind some flax. And for variety, you can change up the fruits used in the smoothie! Strawberries and blueberries are a great way to “hide” the colour of the spinach, so its nice to keep one of those in the mix. šŸ™‚
I love these smoothies, love how they keep me full (results in less snacking), love how my son seems them as such a treat and yet they’re so healthy!

Do you make greens smoothies? What do you put in yours?

