My first time eating poppy seed muffin was in college, at the cafeteria. I loved them, although they were definitely a cake, not a breakfast (yet served at breakfast)! Talk about sweet! No wonder they tasted so good. 😉  I asked a friend for her recipe, and saw that it required a box of store-bought pudding. I don’t know about you, but I don’t like recipes that require store-bought mixes like that. It makes the recipe expensive, and definitely not as healthy. The stuff that’s in those boxes? Not something I want to eat too often. 😛

Fast-forward SIX years. I haven’t had poppy seeds muffins since. I was going through a recipe box from a lady in our church and came across a recipe for poppy seed bread WITHOUT any bought pudding mix in it! To say the least, I was excited! 🙂

The recipe still wasn’t healthy though, with almost as much sugar in the loaf as flour. White flour. I modified the recipe greatly, and it still turned out great, and delicious, and we’re truly enjoying eating the loaves as I type this! 🙂  Yay! At long last I have a poppy seed bread (or muffins!) recipe I can feel pretty good about making, eating, and serving my family!

It’s already getting harder to get a good sunny picture of my food, the days are getting shorter and shorter here already! Oh well, do the best I can. 🙂

Poppy Seed Bread

2 1/2 cups wheat flour (or 3 cups spelt)
1/2 cup white four
1 cup sugar
2 1/2 Tbsp poppy seeds
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp salt
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups milk
1 cup oil
3 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp almond extract

In a large bowl, combine first 5 ingredients. Add eggs, milk, oil, and extracts. Pour into two greased 8.5″ x 4.5″ loaf pans. Bake at 350F for 55-60 minutes. Cool completely in pans.

Glaze*
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup orange juice
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp almond extract

In a sauce pan, bring all glaze ingredients to a boil. Pour over bread in pans. Cool for 5 minutes; remove from pans and cool completely.

* I made half the glaze recipe and found it added enough glaze for the sweetness we like in a loaf.

