I almost forgot to post this recipe this fall! Thanks so much to my friend Ashley for reminding me about it! I’ve been a bit overwhelmed with life lately, and just not getting around to posting my recipes as much. How could I forget this one though?! I love it! My aunt made it for us when we visited her in Quebec in May. When I finally got around to making it for my own family in September, I wondered why it took me so long! So yummy. 🙂

Layered Cabbage Rolls

2 ¼ lb ground beef
1 ½ onions, chopped
3 cloves garlic
3 tsp oregano
2 ¼ tsp dry mustard
1 ½ tsp celery salt
¾ cup rice, uncooked*
1 ½ can diced tomatoes (19oz ea)
1 ½ cups chicken broth
12 cups chopped cabbage
Cheese, if desired

Cook together meat, onions, garlic, spices and tomatoes. In large casserole dish, layer cabbage, meat mixture and rice (2 layers each). Pour broth over it all. Bake 1.5-2hrs at 350F, or until rice is done. If you want, add cheese to top of casserole in the last 30min of cooking.

* The type of rice you use will affect how long it takes to cook this casserole. If you want it to cook faster, use minute rice or partially cook your rice first. You’d probably want to reduce the amount of liquid a bit if you do that. I used brown basmati rice.

