Peppernuts is a Mennonite Christmas cookie. I was only introduced to them last year, and liked their uniqueness! I googled online and found a wide variety of recipes. Instead, I called up my friend who had sent me some last year, and she willingly shared her recipe! Thanks, Melody!

By the way, isn’t that jar in the picture pretty? It belonged to my Grandmother. Whenever we went to visit, we’d sneak out candies from that jar. 😉 Now it’s mine and very special.

 

Peppernut

2 cups honey
½ cup butter
1 egg
¾ cup hot water
½ cup finely chopped nuts
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ginger
¼ tsp cloves
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
4 cups wheat flour
4 cups white flour

Cream together honey, butter and egg. Mix in remaining ingredients. Roll out in rolls about 1/2″ in diameter. Slice in 1/2″ chunks (if too soft to cut well, freeze rolls first) and place in greased cookie sheets. Bake at 375F for 10-12 minutes. Depending how the size you made them, and whether you want them hard or soft, will affect how long you bake them.

