I really like quiche, and so does my husband. Only problem is that I do not like making pie crust! At all! I was excited when I came across Lynn’s Rice Crusted Quiche recipe, and I was no disappointed when I made it! I wondered how well the rice would hold up, or if it would just crumble. Since the egg mixture seeps through the rice, it held up quite well!

I really love this type of recipe where, if I cook extra rice with supper the night before, it makes it a breeze to make supper the next night! Since I also like to keep cooked meat in the freezer, it makes this dish even fast to throw together! It will definitely be a repeat dish around here. 🙂  There are so many ways to change it up. Next time I plan on adding a lot more vegetables. Yum!

Below is my slight adaptation to Lynn’s great recipe.

Rice Crusted Quiche

2 cups cooked rice (I used brown basmati)
1/4 cup butter
1 1/2 cups cooked bacon, sausage, or ham (omit for vegetarian dish)
1 1/2 cups shredded cheese
Several drops of hot pepper sauce
3 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/8 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp onion powder
Vegetables, as desired, cooked (spinach, onions, garlic, broccoli, etc)

Press the rice into a greased 9-in. pie plate to form a crust. Drizzle with butter. Combine the meat you are using, cheese, and hot pepper sauce and spread over rice. Add any vegetables you may want. Beat eggs, milk, garlic powder and onion powder over  pour over sausage over mixture. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

