I started making caramel popcorn as a teenager. It was “my thing” to make at home. My sister’s specialty was cinnamon rolls, and mine was caramel popcorn and date squares. I’ve recently realized that I hadn’t made it in years! Why? Because it takes much longer to make than peanut butter popcorn (which I loooove). But, caramel popcorn has its own unique flavour and is fun to eat once in a while, so I took the time and make some over the Christmas season. I gave some away in nice glass jars with decorative lids. It made for nice little gifts.

Caramel Popcorn

6-7 quarts popped corn (24 cups)
2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup corn syrup
1 cup butter/margarine
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda

Spread popped corn on two (or more) deep cookie sheets/casserole dish/roaster pans. Cook brown sugar, corn syrup, butter, salt and cream of tartar on the stove until it reaches 260F. Remove from heat and add baking soda. Mix well. Spread candy mixture over the top of the popcorn and mix. Don’t worry if it doesn’t cover all the popcorn. Bake at 200F for 1hr, stirring every 15 minutes to mix the corn and candy well. Let cool, then store in airtight container – if it lasts that long!

