Last week I decided to try making white chili. I started making it to realize I had very little of the needed ingredients. Yes, usually one should check the ingredient list before starting a recipe! 😉  So I swapped and traded ingredients, then kept changing the recipe into a whole new one. It was quite tasty!

A couple days later I made the recipe again, this time measuring the ingredients so I could share the recipe with you! I asked my friends what to call it, and chose Karen’s title of Green Bean Chicken Stew. Karen said she likes to know what she’s eating, so this title may be a bit boring, but it tells you what it is! 🙂 Thanks Karen! Since I chose your recipe name, you win being mentioned by name on my blog! 😉

Green Bean Chicken Stew

1 cup onion, cubed
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 – 1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
2 Tbsp chicken bouillon powder*
2 cups kidney beans, with their liquid
1 1/2 cups green beans
3 cups chicken broth
4 cups chicken, diced
1/4 cup water
1 1/2 Tbsp flour

Cook onions and garlic, stirring occasionally, until onions are tender.

Stir in remaining ingredients, except last three ingredients (chicken, water and flour). Heat to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer uncovered 20 minutes. Mix 1/4 cup water and flour in a small bowl to dissolve the flour. Stir in chicken and flour water to the pot and simmer until hot.

Serve as is, with a side of bread, spelt/wheat biscuits, or pumpkin biscuits. Or top with cheese and sour cream!

*I use MSG-free chicken bouillon powder. May need to use less salt if using regular.

