A few weeks ago, a reader asked me what I keep on hand in my kitchen. I’m one who buys in large quantities and keeps things on hand. This way I can cook or bake almost anything I want, anytime I want! Saves me many trips to the grocery store, plus I save money by buying in bulk. I’m also a basic cook, in that I like to make things from scratch, and with basic ingredients. If a recipe calls for something outside of those basic ingredients I keep on hand, I’m not likely to make it. It must be really impressive before I make it, or I’ll adapt the recipe. 🙂  It’s just how I am, and one way that I keep our food budget lower!

I went around my kitchen and pantry today and made a list of all I keep on hand! Some of you might appreciate seeing this list, and what I keep on hand! Of course, this list will vary depending where you live. I don’t keep cream cheese on hand because it’s way too expensive! I know some of you live where it’s affordable to buy cream cheese. So your basic pantry supplies will vary!

Dry goods:

White flour
Spelt berries (I grind my own flour)
Wheat berries (I grind my own flour)
Rye berries (I grind my own flour)
White sugar
Brown sugar
Blackstrap molasses
Honey
Canola oil
Olive oil
White vinegar
Apple cider vinegar
Powdered milk
Beans (mainly chick peas, kidney and black)
Lentils (mainly green and split red)
Cream of wheat
Brown rice (our current favourite is brown long-grain basmati rice)
Oatmeal, quick-cook
Multigrain mix
Pasta, whole wheat (mainly spaghetti)
Lard
Natural peanut butter
Flax seeds
Coffee beans (we grind our own)
Herbal teas
Yeast, instant
Almonds
Raisins
Cornmeal
Walnuts
Coconut, shredded and unsweetened
Powdered sugar
Chocolate chips
Gluten flour
Bread crumbs
Bread cubes
Croutons

Soya sauce
Corn syrup
Muffin tins
Corn syrup

Canned Goods:

Diced tomatoes
Tomato soup
Tomato sauce (large cans for big batches of spaghetti sauce)
Homemade jams (our favourite is strawberry)
Tuna and/or salmon
Maple syrup (made by my aunt and cousin!)

In the Fridge:

Lemon juice (use it in my homemade bread)
Eggs
Milk
Vegetables (mainly carrots and lettuce, and onions and potatoes in the pantry)
Fruits (mainly apples, and bananas in the cupboard)
Ketchup, relish, mustard

Spices:

Paprika
Cury
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Oregano
Parsley
Basil
Thyme
Ginger
Sage
Rosemary
Savory
Nutmeg
Cloves
Cinnamon
Chili powder
Vanilla extract
Baking powder
Baking soda
Cornstarch
PAM (oil spray)
Ground mustard
Hot sauce
Worcestershire sauce
Liquid smoke
Seasoned salt
Cumin
Turmeric
Crushed red peppers
Homemade taco meat seasoning
Pepper
Salt
All spice
Cream of tartar
Bay leaves
Mustard seeds
Msg-free chicken bouillon
Msg-free beef bouillon
Almond extract
Peppermint extract
Food colouring

Vitamins:

Vitamin C
Multi-vitamins
B2
Feverfew
Echinacea
Elderberry syrup
Cough syrup
Allergy medicine
Probiotic
Lactaid (drops I put in our milk for our oldest son’s sake)

In the freezer:

Bananas
Strawberries
Blueberries
Spinach (for our green smoothies)
Meats (mainly beef/chicken)
Vegetables (mainly corn, peas, green beans)
Perogies, whole wheat
Grated cheese

