My friends were talking about an easy homemade corn tortilla recipe recently. I was intrigued since we love tortillas but seldom have them. Why? Because they are so expensive in my area, and I seldom make them since they are quite a bit of work homemade!

They graciously gave me their recipe, and I tried them that night. Why postpone what can be made right away?! 🙂

I had high hopes of it turning out like a regular tortilla (but corn-flavoured), but it’s not like a regular tortilla. It’s more like a crepe. It cooks like a crepe, it tastes like it too! But it worked! My husband said “You can definitely do these again!” 🙂

If you’re up for a super easy recipe, to use in place of a tortilla, you may want to try this one out! I’ll be making it again. So simple, and so cheap to make. 🙂

 

Easy Corn Tortillas

2 cups flour (I used spelt)
1 cup cornmeal
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups water (probably will need to add more to thin out batter as you go on)

Mix all ingredients together. Makes a runny batter. Simply pour 1/4 cup into frying pan and spread it out immediately to make it thin. Flip it when the edges curl.

Voila! That easy! I bet these would also taste good for breakfast, or with dessert toppings inside. Mmmmm!

