When I got married, a mentor of mine put together a recipe book with some of her good trusted recipes which has been using for years. What an awesome wedding gift! This lasagna recipe is hers, and I’m sharing it in case you don’t already have a recipe. Who doesn’t like lasagna?! 🙂

Lasagna

12 lasagna noodles
1 1/3lb ground beef
1 onion, chopped
2 jars pasta sauce (500-700ml each) – I use homemade
2 Tbsp parsley
1 container (500g) cottage cheese
1 egg
1 cup shredded cheese

Cook 12 lasagna noodles for 10-12 minutes.*

Cook ground beef and onion. Stir in pasta sauce and 2 Tbsp parsley.

Mix cottage cheese with the egg.

Spread in layers, in a 9×13″ pan:
1/4 meat sauce
Noodles
1/4 meat sauce
Noodles
Cottage cheese
Noodles
1/4 meat sauce
Noodles
1/4 meat sauce
Cheese

Bake at 350F for 45 minutes. Let stand for 15 minutes before serving, as it sets the layers better.

*My Mom told me that you can skip cooking the noodles first, even if they are not ready-to-use noodles, as long as you have enough liquid in the lasagna and cook it a bit longer. That’s how I always do mine now! Saves a step, saves some dirty dishes, and is much quicker!

