This month, for Secret Recipe Club, I was assigned Judy’s Blog: My Judy the Foodie. Her blog is unique in that she started it as a way to relive her memories of her mother (who has passed away). She has/is working her way through her Mom’s recipes, blogging about them, and sharing the recipes with others. She shares memories associated with the recipes though, which makes it so personal and unique. I enjoyed browsing through several recipes, hopping around, reading her memories. I picked a yummy banana breadto try. Simple to make, but oh, so healthy and yummy! I made a double batch (two loaves), and it was gone in one day. 🙂  I made one batch with chocolate chips, and one with dried cranberries, yum!

Banana Honey Bran Bread

1 1/2 cups flour (I used spelt, would be a little less dense if using 1 cup wheat, 1/2 cup white)
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup bran
2 eggs
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup oil
1/4 cup milk
1 1/2 cups bananas, mashed
1/4 cup walnuts, optional
1/2 cup chocolate chips/raisins/dried cranberries, optional

Beat eggs; add in milk, oil, honey, and bananas. Mix together dry ingredients, and stir into wet ingredients. Pour batter into greased bread pan. Bake at 350F for 45-60 minutes. Let cool in pan for 15 minutes, then take bread out of pan and let cool on cooling rack.

Notes: ~ the original recipe says to bake for 1hr, but I checked mine after 50 minutes and it was a bit overcooked. I’m sure that varies by oven, so check your bread after 45 minutes and go from there! Check for doneness by inserting a toothpick in the middle, if it comes out clean, the bread is done. ~ Judy mentions she would add extra mashed banana for added moisture. I tried without adding extra, and I agree with her! Increasing the mashed banana to 2 cups would go very well in the bread, I’m sure!


