Last year, I decided to try my hand at a homemade cold and cough syrup. I found one on Keeper of the Home, and decided to order the herbs and give it a try! While looking around on Bulk Herb Store, and reading about some of the other herbs available, I decided to tweak the cold and cough recipe a bit, by adding a couple extra helpful herbs.

We loved the syrup. I usually only resort to giving/taking cough syrup when absolutely necessary, since I don’t like all the chemicals in it. This was one we could take as much as needed (up to every 1/2hr) and we felt we could give our kids safely as well.

I can take it a lot more as it helps heal, not just temporary relief.

There’s a medicinal tea that we used to buy at Wal-Mart (in the pharmacy section) called Throat Coat. We found it very helpful in soothing our sore throats. When I compared the ingredients of that Throat Coat tea and this homemade cold and cough syrup, it was similar! It works in a similar way!

I made more syrup this year, and many of my friends have asked me about it, so I decided to put my thoughts and recipe on here. 🙂

It’s really easy to make! If you can’t buy the herbs locally (I can’t), check our Bulk Herb Store and Mountain Meadow Herbs, as they both sell high quality herbs. I ordered the smallest quantity of each of the four herbs, and will have enough to make a LOT of cough syrup, and maybe mix up my own tea bags for my own Throat Coat as well. 🙂

To read more about this homemade cold and cough syrup, check out the post where it originated at Keeper of the Home. She does a good job of describing it, and giving thorough instructions on making it. I’m putting my own recipe here, because I added extra beneficial herbs to the recipe. 🙂

First, let’s look at the benefits of each of the ingredients included in the cold and cough syrup!

1. Red clover has also been widely used for its antispasmodic and expectorant properties. It helps to relieve the lungs of congestion and can soothe a sore throat. It is in many remedies for whopping cough, bronchitis, asthma, and numerous other cough-related issues. In a honey sweetened tea, red clover flower has been known to loosen phlegm and calm bronchial spasm (info from here). High in vitamin C.

2. Ginger increases warmth, circulation (important for healing) and the overall effectiveness of the syrup. (info from here)

3. Licorice Root may be used for restoring immune function… It is especially useful for any mucous membrane infection… or immune suppression. (info from here)

4. Comfrey Leaf is high in calcium and vitamin C… it is an anti-inflammatory that perks up the immune system, and speeds wound healing. (info from here) Comfrey is particularly good for healing. (info from here)

5. Slippery Elm has more of a reputation for soothing and coating the throat. (info from here) Slippery Elm Bark Powder is very soothing to the entire digestive system. Coats, relaxes, and heals all inflames tissues including irritated and inflamed mucous membranes of stomach. (info from here)

6. Cloves is specifically good for pain relief. (info from here) Clove relieves pain, increases blood circulation, aids digestion, and is antiseptic and antimicrobial. (info from here)

Now, let’s get to the simple directions of how to make this syrup!

Homemade Cold and Cough Syrup!

1 cup onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 Tbsp herbs total (a pinch of each: comfrey leaf, slippery elm, licorice root, and red clover)
1 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp ginger
1 cup honey, approx (preferably unpasteurized)

Place onion, garlic, herbs, cloves and ginger in a small pot. Cover it all with honey, approximately 1 cup. Cover and let simmer on low, stirring occasionally, for 20 minutes.

Strain out the herbs, onion, and garlic. It’s ok if there are some herbs left. 🙂 Place the syrup in a glass jar and store in the fridge.

Use 1 tsp for children (10 years old and younger) and 1 Tbsp for adults. Use as needed, as often as every 30 minutes.

