I’m part of an online club, called “Secret Recipe Club“. Every month, I am assigned a recipe blog where I get to choose a recipe, blog about it, and all the posts (of my group) go live on the last Monday or every month. It’s fun as it exposes me to new recipe blogs, get me to try new recipes, see what recipe someone else picked from my blog, and helps promote each others’ blogs.

Recently, one of the Secret Recipe Club members, Daniel of Haggis and Herring passed away (his wife Meredith wrote of his passing, and a eulogy here). Today, there is a special tribute reveal in his honor. All those who chose to participate picked one recipe from his blog, and we are now blogging about it. I thought this was pretty special, considering we only know each other through this online venture! Thank you, SRC hostesses, for organizing this!

I picked a Chick Pea Stew recipe. I put all the ingredients in the crock-pot, let it simmer all day and voilà! So easy! I really liked this recipe, though my boys were not quite as fans of it. I’ll be making it again anyways. 😉  I did cut down on the cayenne pepper and chili as my boys aren’t so keen on spicy (“it spices my tongue!”), but I personally quite liked the kick of this recipe. 🙂

Chick Pea Stew

1 cup onion, diced
1 cup carrot, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups potatoes, cubed
1/4 tsp ground cayenne pepper
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/8 tsp salt
1 can (28oz) diced tomatoes
1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained (about 2 cups, I cook my own from dry)
1 cup vegetable/chicken broth

Stovetop: Sautee onions and garlic (with 2 Tbsp oil) for 2-3 minutes. Add carrots and continue to saute for 4-5 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are done.

Crockpot: Simply combine all ingredients and let simmer on low about 8hrs! The exact time will depend on strength of your crock-pot, but a crockpot is pretty forgiving that way. 🙂

Can be eaten just as it is, on top of rice, or noodles! I ate mine plain, my husband ate his on top of noodles, and my boys ate it plain with noodles on the side. 😉


