Sometimes, I just crave baked beans. There’s something so yummy about them! When I make baked beans, I make a large batch and freeze some for later. This way I no longer need to buy cans to satisfy those occasional baked beans cravings. 🙂

Baked Beans

2 cups (1lb) dried navy beans*
10 cups water
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1 tsp salt
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cups water

Soak beans overnight.Heat beans and 10 cups water to boiling in a large pot. Boil uncovered for 2 minutes. Stir in remaining ingredients except 3 cups water. Pour into oven-safe dish. Cover and bake at 350F for 4 hours, stirring occasionally. Stir in 3 cups water. Bake uncovered 2hrs, stirring occasionally, until beans are tender and desired consistency.

*I was out of navy beans, and made the above recipe with Mung beans successfully!

Recipe is slight variation from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook.

