Here comes another Secret Recipe Club recipe swap! This month, I was assigned Avril’s blog: Baking and Creating with Avril. Since we are moving cross-country this coming Thursday, I needed to find a fairly simple recipe. I knew I found the perfect recipe when I saw this one: Pumpkies (aka Pumpkin Brownies!).

We love pumpkin stuff, especially at this time of the year, I had some to use up in my freezer, and it’s a quick and easy recipe. 🙂  I made it, let it cool, then offered a piece to my 4-yr old. He took one bite and said “I really like this!!!” and proceeded to eat more instead of his lunch. 😉  (I guess it’s my fault for giving him some just before lunch!!)

Thanks for a yummy, quick and easy recipe, Avril! I’ll be making this one again. 🙂

Pumpkin Brownies

1/3 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3/4 cup flour (I used spelt flour)
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I used: 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cinnamon)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
Beat butter until light and fluffy, add in sugar, egg and pumpkin puree.  Mix all together until well combined then add in flour, spices and salt to your pumpkin mixture.  Mix all together thoroughly. Pour into greased 8″x8″ pan. Bake at 350F for 30-35 minutes.  Cool as much as you wish and serve.



