photo copy 5

photo copy 4

 

(I ate mine with salsa on top!)

I hadn’t done this recipe is so long, since we don’t often eat breakfast all together (my husband gets up way earlier), and because it takes an hour to cook. But the other day I was wondering what to make for supper, and I had some older bread to use up, fresh cheese my aunt made and gave us, some cooked meat, and fresh farm eggs! I decided to make this breakfast casserole for supper, and then wondered why I’ve never done so before! It’s an easy dish to prepare earlier in the day (when I have more energy), and includes all food groups to fill our tummies up. 🙂

Breakfast casserole

8 cups bread chunks*
2 3/4 cups milk
10 eggs
1 cup diced meat
1 cup cheese, shredded
2 1/2 tsp worcestershire sauce
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp dry mustard
3 1/2 tsp parsley

Mix bread and meat together in a 9×12 casserole dish. In a separate bowl, beat eggs, and add remaining ingredients (Except cheese). Mix well. Pour liquid over bread and meat mixture, and press down to saturate all the bread. There should be a fair amount of extra liquid, that it almost seems like too much! Cover with plastic wrap and place the casserole dish in the fridge for a few hours or overnight. This allows time for the bread to soak up the liquid. You want it to still be quite moist after it’s soaked in and baked, which is why it seems like way too much liquid at first. 🙂

Bake, uncovered, at 350F for 1hr.

*that’s my homemade bread, might need less if using lighter store-bought.

