540490_10152476438845153_1613994897_n

Once in a while we crave breakfast sausage, to have that “North American breakfast” of eggs, meat, hashbrowns and toast. Every time I buy some, we end up disappointed, and a bit grossed out, at all the fat chunks in the sausage. 😛  While fat in and of itself isn’t bad, I really don’t enjoy eating a lot of fat in my meat! When my friend shared this breakfast sausage recipe she had tried, I knew I wanted to try it.

While I was mixture up the recipe, my son got the flu, so I stuck everything in the fridge. The next day I ended up just shaping all the meat (a tripled recipe) into rolls and baking it on top of a cooling rack (for the fat to drip into the cookie sheet), as I needed to get it dealt with quickly. I plan on using the meat as a snack or lunch with cheese and crackers, as well as on top of pizza! It tastes very good, and I’m sure it would taste great shaped into little patties or sausages to fry up with eggs for breakfast. Just takes a bit longer to shape them like that, so I went the easy way. 😉  Here’s my adaptation to the recipe, though I’m sure the original tastes just as good! My boys don’t enjoy spicy as much, so I made a more plain version.

Breakfast Sausage

1lb ground pork
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sage
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp black pepper

Mix all ingredients together.

For sausage balls: roll into 24 balls, place each one in a mini-muffin tin. Bake at 350F for 20-23 minutes or until no longer pink in the center.
For sausage patties: form into 12 equal size patties. Fry in a frying pan, on medium-high heat, 3-4 minutes per side or until no longer pink in the center.
For sausage roll (like I did): shape into logs, place on a rooling rack on top of a cookie sheet (so fat can drip down). Bake at 325F, approximately 2hrs until center is no longer pink.

All of these would freezer really well before (or after) being cooked!

