You’ve asked, you’re receiving. πŸ™‚ Β I asked Josiah to video-tape the process as I made a loaf of bread. I didn’t share the recipe as I added ingredients (other than saying what I was adding) because it’s the same process with whichever recipe you use! I usually make my bread with a Bosch mixer (more on that in another post), but for this video, I made the loaf by hand. It still tasted great. πŸ˜‰ Β hehe

The tutorial is broken in a few small chunks, here we go!

If you are using traditional yeast, you will need to proof your yeast first. If not, then there is no need as you can simply add it into your bread at the same time than your flour. If you’re not sure, then go ahead and proof it as it won’t hurt! πŸ™‚ I personally use instant since it’s one less step in the bread making process. Here is how to proof your yeast:

The next step is to add in the rest of your ingredients, knead 10-12 minutes until the gluten in your dough is developed enough. I show you how to check that at the end of this next clip:

After the first rise, you punch down your dough…

After the 2nd rise, you are ready to shape your loaf! This next clip shows you how to shape it. Plus, you get to see Korban (3 yrs old) shaping a loaf too! He loves being like his Mommy. πŸ™‚

Once it has risen in the bread pan, you are ready to cook it! This short clip shows how the dough looks/feels once it’s risen enough to start baking.

How to check if it is cooked enough. Sorry for the shaky filming here, I was trying to film and one-hanndedly take the loaf out of the oven!!

So there you go! I hope that helps answers some questions! It’s hard to remember what to say when getting video-taped, hehe. Feel free to ask questions and I will do my best to answer!

I also wanted to share another youtube video that I found very helpful in my bread-making. She’s obviously a very experiencedΒ Mom!! She grinds her own wheat (as I do) and uses a Bosch similar to what I have, but she gives great tips even if you’re kneading by hand. Here is the first of the eight parts of her video tutorial.