IMG_3469

On mothers’ day, I wanted a special treat. I wanted cinnamon rolls! But I didn’t have the time to make the regular ones I usually make. I found this recipe, which was fast and easy and delicious! My oldest said “We get to eat DESSERT for BREAKFAST?!?!” He was quite thrilled at the idea of cinnamon buns for breakfast. Since I made the biscuit dough whole wheat, I didn’t feel bad serving it that way. I’ll be making this again!

Quick Cinnamon Buns

3 cups flour (I used 2 cups wheat, 1 cup white)
2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
2/3 cup butter
1 1/4 cup buttermilk (I simply added 1 Tbsp of vinegar to my milk)
1 egg

Cinnamon Filling:
3 Tbsp butter
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon

In large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. In separate bowl, whisk buttermilk with egg; pour over dry ingredients and stir with fork to make soft dough. Knead a few times, on a floured surface, until you have a smooth ball of dough, about 10 times. Roll out approximately 16″x11″ rectangle.

Brush butter all over the dough, sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon. Roll up and pinch edges to seal. Using a serrated knife, cut in 1″ thick slices. Place on greased cookie sheet. Bake 20 minutes at 400F, until lightly brown. Enjoy!