My 2-yr old was recently battling a diaper rash. After trying various (expensive!) over the counter diaper creams, with no real results. During that time I ordered what I needed to make my own, and I’ve been so pleased with it! Even my son said “No owie!” after I put it on his rashy-bum. That’s quite a compliment! 🙂

I looked around online at various recipes for diaper rash creams, such as this one and this one, and  ended up making my own end product. I bought most of the ingredients from New Directions Aromatics (they have both a US website and Canadian website) as they have very good prices, decent shipping rate, and quick delivery.

Homemade Diaper Rash Cream

2 Tbsp coconut oil
1/8 cup shea butter
1/8 oz beeswax granules
2 tsp cornstarch
5 drops vitamin E drops (or empty one capsule) (optional, good for skin)
6 drops grapefruit seed extract (optional, as preservative)
1 Tbsp zinc oxide powder
1 Tbsp witch hazel (optional, its treats inflammation and swelling)
5 drops tea tree essential oil (optional, but anti-bacterial, and anti-fungal)
5 drops lavender essential oil (optional, but anti-bacterial, and anti-viral)

Place coconut oil, beeswax, and shea butter, and cornstarch in a double boiler (or place a bowl in a hot water/boiling water pot), melt the oils on medium-low heat. Remove bowl and put on counter. Add in zinc powder, vitamin E oil, grapefruit seed extract, witch hazel, and essential oils. Using a slick blender or hand mixer, blend in well, until smooth. Pour into a jar, and let cool.