I was introduced to this dessert in college (in Saskatchewan). It’s the same type of dessert as rice krispies squares, just that easy, but, in my opinion, so much better! 🙂

When I was engaged, my “SK mom” made me a recipe book. It’s a book I treasure, and use often! One of those recipes is Puffed Wheat Cake.

Another fun little story behind this is regarding the puffed wheat itself. My Mom grew up on a farm, and they used to feed their ducks puffed wheat. So she grew up calling puffed wheat “céréal de canard (duck food)”. I also grew up calling them “céréal de canard”, and didn’t actually know it wasn’t their real name until my teens. 😉  While I call them puffed wheat now, in my heart, it’s still “céréal de canard”. 😉 So, here is the recipe for Duck Food Puffed Wheat Cake!

Puffed Wheat Cake

1/2 cup butter/margarine
1/2 cup corn syrup
1 cup brown sugar
3 Tbsp cocoa
9 cups puffed wheat
250g marshmallows (8oz, or, 30 large marshmallows)

Place butter, corn syrup, brown sugar and cocoa in large pot. Melt on medium heat until just bubble. Turn off heat, add in marshmallows and stir until melted. Add in puffed wheat, mix. Pour into 9″x12″ casserole dish, press down with buttered spatula (or marshmallow sticks all over your spatula). Let cool, and enjoy!