This recipe is from a lady in our church, and I thought it a perfect muffin to make on a fall morning! I whipped up a batch while my baby was napping, and we ate them all within… I don’t know… two hours? Guess one dozen muffin (and 6 mini muffins) isn’t quite enough for my little family. 🙂

I like how healthy these muffins are. Made with only wheat flour, sweetened with local honey, and filled with pumpkin and carrots!

Pumpkin-Carrot Muffins

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1 cup pureed pumpkin (canned, or homemade)
3/4 cup honey (I used 1/2 cup)
1/4 cup oil*
1 cup shredded carrots

In a large bowl, mix the flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, and baking powder. In a medium bowl, whisk the egg, pumpkin, honey, and oil until smooth. Add to the flour mixture, and stir just until combined. Do not overmix. Fold in carrots. Spoon into a muffin pan. Bake at 350F, for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out almost clean. Remove from pan, and cool on a rack. Makes 12 muffins.

* Or use 1 Tbsp oil, and 2 Tbsp applesauce for a healthier substitute.