I used up a jar of store-bought thai sauce on yummy chicken thai pizzas before deciding that I needed to find a homemade recipe since it has become our favourite pizza! 🙂  For now, anyways! I googled and googled, then found a couple recipes that used ingredients I mostly keep on hand, and adapted them to fit me. Because we all know recipes are meant to be changed, right?! 🙂

This recipe is mostly an adaptation of this one, and we love it! Adjust the amount of red pepper flakes according to how spicy you like your sauce. I say the cilantro is optional because I greatly dislike it and didn’t add it in, and the recipe is still quite good! I hear cilantro is something you either love or hate.

How about you, do you love (or hate) cilantro?? 🙂

Sweet Thai Sauce

1 1/2 tsp dried red pepper flakes
4 cloves garlic
1/2 cup vinegar
2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
2/3 cup water
4 teaspoons cornstarch
4 tablespoons chopped cilantro (optional)

Combine red pepper flakes, garlic, vinegar, sugar and salt in blender and blend. Pour into a pot. Mix cornstarch and water together until cornstarch is dissolved and add to ingredients in the pot. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently, and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in cilantro if desired.

Posted at Tempt my Tummy Tuesday!