It’s Secret Recipe Club time again! I didn’t participate last month since we were on the road for 2 weeks, and missed it! It’s fun to get assigned to a new blog, get to know the author, and browse around for a recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย Usually I come up with several I want to try, and narrow it down to one that fits my fancy and cravings at that time. ๐Ÿ™‚

This month I was assigned to The Gingered Whisk! Jenni has a super cute daughter, and shares my love of being in the kitchen. I always browse the bread sections, since that is a bit of my “specialty”. Jenni really likes using sourdough! It’s not something I’ve experimented with very much, but I want to. It was neat to see how many different types of bread can be done with sourdough. Good job, Jenni! It’s inspiring! ๐Ÿ™‚

I received this assignment right after we got back home from 18 days on the road. I was exhausted, and my youngest was sick, so I looked for something quick. I decided on a very basic recipe, in hopes that some of you would benefit from it! What is better in these coming supper months than a yummy Chicken Salad sandwich?! You can eat it on crackers, buns, bread, or tortillas. It’s easy to bring on a picnic, or a day at the beach! It’s versatile too, you can add many different nuts and fruits to “spice it up”. ๐Ÿ™‚

Jenni’s recipe is super simple. I tweaked it a bit because I had just gotten a Vita-Mix and wanted to try it out in there (worked great!), and because I’ve been craving cranberries so I had to add some in. ๐Ÿ™‚

Cranberry Chicken Salad

2 cups chicken, cooked and shredded*
1 pickle, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
Mayonnaise to taste
Handful dried cranberries, chopped**

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Serve on crackers, buns, bread, or tortilla wraps.

*Put mine through my Vita-Mix blender to shred! So quick! Would also work through a food processor, or chop finely with a knife.
** I put those through the Vita-Mix too!!